Animals and plants Plants and animals Fauna and plants Flora and animals Animals and plants

Deer, giraffes and antelopes

Deer, antelopes and lanky, a bit inconsistent giraffes concern group of artiodactyl ruminants. Hastily swallowed food is stored in one of their four stomachs, and later otrygivaetsja for more careful chewing.

In total in Europe, the North Africa, Asia and both Americas 36 kinds of deer are. Rather recently they have been delivered to Australia and New Zealand.

Deer - unique animals at whom on vyrostah frontal bones branchy bone formations, or horns settle down. Except for one - two kinds, horns decorate only males. Every year old horns fall down, and on their place the new grow. During the period gona, i.e. A season of pairing, a horn serve males as the weapon for duels for a female. Deer usually live large herds, wandering from place to place in search of a forage. Eat a bark, kidneys, runaways and foliage of trees and bushes.


Deer of Eurasia

The Most widespread European kinds are a babe a fallow deer in height in holke 1 m and a majestic red deer, whose growth reaches 1,2 m.

In the wild nature of a fallow deer meet in the south of Europe, in Turkey and here and there in the northwest of Africa. In Northern Europe and Great Britain fallow deer live in parks as decorative animals. Red deer widespread almost in all Europe, Northwest Africa where them name berberskimi deer, and in Iran. In close relationship with them the American red deer consists vapiti, or.

The reindeer lives In Lapland and on the Far North Russia. The warm shaggy fur and a thick layer of hypodermic fat allow it to survive in severe conditions of the Arctic winter.

The Largest representative of all olenego a tribe is almost two-metre European elk. This near relation of the American elk widespread in Scandinavia, the Eastern Europe and Siberia where chooses for dwelling deciduous woods, bogs and peatbogs.

From the Asian kinds the Indian marsh deer, or barasingu is known. In India, Sri Lanka, larger lives in South East Asia, China and on Philippines zambar in weight to 320 kg. But, perhaps, all are surpassed beauty by a deer aksis with its ryzhevato-brown fur coat covered with white specks. It is found in India and Sri Lanka, wandering herds to 100 and more individuals.

Small Indian muntzhak growth does not exceed semimeter. It often name a barking deer because of a voice similar to the dog bark. Small horns at it short, but it not without success is protected by pair sharp canines. As the Chinese water deer is insignificant also.

David's deer became the Present rarity. By 1900 it has been completely exterminated in native China, but, fortunately, diligence of the duke of Bedfordsky Uobern in an English estate the small herd which posterity has been dispatched in due course in many zoos, including Peking has remained.

Deer Various kinds of deer richly and western hemisphere. The American elk is necessary the close relative to the American red deer and in many respects to it is similar. One more known American - karibu, or a reindeer. Distinguish two kinds of this animal - wood and tundra. Wood karibu live in dense woods of Canada and northern states of the USA. Tundra karibu there is less growth also their wood colleagues are more light colouring, rather than. They winter in woods, and for the summer remove to the Arctic tundra.

More often in the wild nature meets graceful white-tailed, or virginsky, a deer living in the North America, Bolivia, in all three Gvianah and Peru. Growth of this animal does not exceed 1 m. In the western regions of the North America the deer with long, as at the mule, ears is found similar to it chernohvostyj, or asinine. Both those, and others differ a manner highly to jump up on the run.

Brown and red deer mazama are found in tropical widths. In close relationship with them the small consists in the world the Chilean deer to pood. Its height in holke does not exceed 30 see the Largest in the South America the marsh deer in height to 1,2 m.

is

Reproduction

Надежное проектирование гостиниц от ZG

Annually all females who have reached to a sexual maturity are impregnated by the leader of herd. After the pregnancy lasting at different kinds from 25 till 40 weeks, the female gives birth to one - two cubs. Usually females breed in any secluded corner, and, before to join herd together with mother, cubs hide some more weeks in shelter.


Antelopes

Antelopes differ from deer the direct horns hollow and deprived of shoots. The family of antelopes amazes with variety of forms and the sizes. Growth of some giants, for example, kanny, reaches 2 m. But there are also kids - will tell, the height in holke a dwarfish antelope makes only about a metre quarter. Almost all antelopes live in Africa, some kinds - in Asia. And the so-called American antelope, or vilorog, despite the name, is not the close relative of antelopes. Both males, and females of this family carry horns, but unlike deer do not dump them every year. On tournaments during a season of pairing males of antelopes like deer use horns as the weapon.

Some kinds of antelopes live in woods, on hillsides or on bogs, but the majority wanders huge herds on open spaces of dry savannas of East and Southern Africa. At the slightest threat all swift-footed herd amicably seeks safety in flight. Almost at all antelopes the skin is covered by the short, monophonically painted wool of different shades of grey or ryzhevato-brown colours. Distinguish four basic groups of antelopes: vintorogie kudu and bushboki; dukery; sablerogie, or horse, antelopes; gazelles.

The group bushbokov and kudu which males are decorated by spirally twirled horns, includes also a sort olenebykov. Kudu - tall enough animal with the horns similar to a corkscrew, living in dumetose savannas. Here herds of largest of the African antelopes - kanny are grazed. The height in holke makes the male of this kind about 1,5 m. rather small bushboki prefer woods. Their oranzhevo-brown sides are painted by bright cross-section strips.

To group vintorogih two Asian kinds belong also. On open plains of India the antelope nilgau with short conic small horns is found, and in a dense underbrush of tropical jungle there lives small chetyrehrogaja an antelope - as a matter of fact, the unique owner of four horns.

Antelopes-dukery, getting away from hunters or predators, confuse a pursuit, alternating wide zigzags here and there to high jumpings up. These antelopes are found in woods and kustarnikovyh thickets of the Central and Southern Africa.

The group sablerogih includes a great number of large and average animals. Two kinds of this group - horse and black antelopes use special popularity, whose long ears do their similar to horses. They live herds: horse - on open spaces to the south from equator, and black - in the Central and East Africa. The mention two more kinds - marsh and water goats deserve. Both keep nearby from water where hide from predators because of what them often name marsh antelopes.

Number of large representatives of this group concern oriks, or sernobyk (small population oriksov lives and in Saudi Arabia), long-nosed bubaly, or the cow antelopes, with their horns similar to lyre, and the well-known antelopes of a gnu. Bubaly and gnus are found in savannas much and do not differ special beauty, superficially resembling a hybrid between a horse and a buffalo.

Unlike bubalov and a gnu, gazelles long since are considered as recognised beauties among antelopes. These harmonous swift-footed animals are perfectly adapted for a life in hot droughty regions of Africa and Asia. To them belong springbok, in case of danger jumping up on 2 m, impala, moving long jumps, and vintorogaja garna, not knowing to itself equal in run in all India.


the Giraffe

The Six-metre giraffe - highest of mammals - is easy for learning on long long-legged feet and longer neck. High growth and an inconsistent kind do it, at first sight, enough easy mark, however it is capable to accelerate momentum to 50 km/hour and to strike the enemy powerful blow of feet. It is enough one blow of a back hoof to kill a lion. Short small horns of a giraffe, unlike olenih horns, serve it all life, however unique colour to its shape spotty zolotisto-brown colouring gives.


the Way of life of a giraffe

Giraffes Giraffes are found in many regions of Africa, preferring vysokotrave dumetose savannas, where enough their favourite forage - foliage of acacias and mimosas. And as trees grow in savannas small islets, giraffes wander to feeding places small groups to 30 individuals, consisting of several females with cubs and the leader.

Males quite often start skirmishes for the right to couple with a female, and pairing occurs at any time year - the period gona at a giraffe does not exist. During a duel duelists exchange hard blows a head - it, by the way, weighs to 45 kg - and long necks. After 4-month's pregnancy on light there are cubs who in 20 minutes are capable to stand on the feet. Life expectancy a giraffe - till 30 years.

The giraffe has only one relative - okapi. This animal is so reserved that Europeans have seen it for the first time only in 1901 Okapi lives in rainforests of the Central Africa, its growth in holke reaches 1,5 m, and shorter sloping neck distinguishes from its giraffe. Colour of a wool - krasnovato-brown with cream strips standing. At males grow similar on zhirafi small horns. Okapi live the groups consisting usually from one male and two females with cubs.

Животные и растения Растения и животные Мир животных и растений Мир растений и животных Животные и растения


Олени, жирафы и антилопы

Олени, антилопы и долговязые, немного нескладные жирафы относятся к отряду парнокопытных жвачных животных. Наспех проглоченная пища хранится в одном из их четырех желудков, а позднее отрыгивается для более тщательного пережевывания.

Всего в Европе, Северной Африке, Азии и обеих Америках насчитывается 36 видов оленей. Сравнительно недавно они были завезены в Австралию и Новую Зеландию.

Олени - единственные животные, у которых на выростах лобных костей располагаются ветвистые костные образования, или рога. За исключением одного- двух видов, рога украшают только самцов. Каждый год старые рога спадают, а на их месте вырастают новые. В период гона, т. е. сезона спаривания, рога служат самцам оружием для поединков за самку. Олени обычно живут крупными стадами, кочуя с места на место в поисках корма. Питаются корой, почками, побегами и листвой деревьев и кустарников.


Олени Евразии

Самые распространенные европейские виды - это малышка лань высотой в холке около 1 м и величественный благородный олень, чей рост достигает 1,2 м.

В дикой природе лани встречаются на юге Европы, в Турции и кое-где на северо-западе Африки. В Северной Европе и Великобритании лани живут в парках как декоративные животные. Благородные олени широко распространены почти во всей Европе, Северо-Западной Африке, где их называют берберскими оленями, и в Иране. В близком родстве с ними состоит вапити, или американский благородный олень.

В Лапландии и на Крайнем Севере России обитает северный олень. Теплый мохнатый мех и толстый слой подкожного жира позволяют ему выживать в суровых условиях арктической зимы.

Крупнейшим представителем всего оленьего племени является почти двухметровый европейский лось. Этот близкий родственник американского лося широко распространен в Скандинавии, Восточной Европе и Сибири, где выбирает для обитания лиственные леса, болота и торфяники.

Из азиатских видов известен индийский болотный олень, или барасингу. В Индии, Шри-Ланке, в Юго-Восточной Азии, Китае и на Филиппинах обитает более крупный замбар весом до 320 кг. Но, пожалуй, всех превосходит красотой олень аксис с его покрытой белыми пятнышками рыжевато-коричневой шубкой. Он водится в Индии и Шри-Ланке, кочуя стадами до 100 и больше особей.

Маленький индийский мунтжак ростом не превышает полуметра. Его часто называют лающим оленем из-за похожего на собачий лай голоса. Рожки у него короткие, но он не без успеха защищается парой острых клыков. Так же невелик и китайский водяной олень.

Настоящей редкостью стал олень Давида. К 1900 г. он был полностью истреблен в родном Китае, но, к счастью, стараниями герцога Бедфордского в английском поместье Уоберн сохранилось небольшое стадо, потомство которого было со временем разослано во многие зоопарки, включая Пекинский.

ОлениРазличными видами оленей богато и западное полушарие. Американский лось приходится близким родичем американскому благородному оленю и во многом на него похож. Еще один известный американец - карибу, или северный олень. Различают два вида этого животного - лесной и тундровый. Лесные карибу живут в густых лесах Канады и северных штатов США. Тундровые карибу меньше ростом и светлее окраской, нежели их лесные собратья. Зимуют они в лесах, а на лето перекочевывают в арктическую тундру.

Чаще всего в дикой природе встречается грациозный белохвостый, или виргинский, олень, обитающий в Северной Америке, Боливии, во всех трех Гвианах и Перу. Рост этого животного не превышает 1 м. В западных регионах Северной Америки водится похожий на него чернохвостый, или ослиный, олень с длинными, как у мула, ушами. И те, и другие отличаются манерой высоко подпрыгивать на бегу.

Коричневый и красный олени мазама водятся в тропических широтах. В близком родстве с ними состоит самый маленький в мире чилийский олень пуду. Его высота в холке не превышает 30 см. Крупнейшим в Южной Америке является болотный олень высотой до 1,2 м.


Размножение

Ежегодно всех достигших половой зрелости самок оплодотворяет вожак стада. После беременности, длящейся у разных видов от 25 до 40 недель, самка рожает одного- двух детенышей. Обычно самки производят потомство в каком-нибудь укромном уголке, и, прежде чем присоединиться к стаду вместе с матерью, детеныши еще несколько недель прячутся в укрытии.


Антилопы

Антилопы отличаются от оленей полыми и лишенными отростков прямыми рогами. Семейство антилоп поражает многообразием форм и размеров. Рост некоторых великанов, например, канны, достигает 2 м. Но есть и малыши - скажем, высота в холке карликовой антилопы составляет лишь около четверти метра. Почти все антилопы живут в Африке, лишь несколько видов - в Азии. А так называемая американская антилопа, или вилорог, несмотря на название, не является близким родичем антилоп. И самцы, и самки этого семейства носят рога, но в отличие от оленей не сбрасывают их каждый год. На турнирах в сезон спаривания самцы антилоп подобно оленям пользуются рогами как оружием.

Некоторые виды антилоп живут в лесах, на горных склонах или на болотах, но большинство кочует огромными стадами по просторам сухих саванн Восточной и Южной Африки. При малейшей угрозе все быстроногое стадо дружно спасается бегством. Почти у всех антилоп шкура покрыта короткой, однотонно окрашенной шерстью разных оттенков серого или рыжевато-бурого цветов. Различают четыре основных группы антилоп: винторогие куду и бушбоки; дукеры; саблерогие, или лошадиные, антилопы; газели.

В группу бушбоков и куду, самцы которых украшены спирально закрученными рогами, входит и род оленебыков. Куду - достаточно рослое животное с похожими на штопор рогами, обитающее в поросших кустарником саваннах. Здесь же пасутся стада самой крупной из африканских антилоп - канны. Высота в холке самца этого вида составляет около 1,5 м. Сравнительно небольшие бушбоки отдают предпочтение лесам. Их оранжево-коричневые бока раскрашены яркими поперечными полосами.

К группе винторогих принадлежат и два азиатских вида. На открытых равнинах Индии водится антилопа нильгау с короткими коническими рожками, а в густом подлеске тропических джунглей живет маленькая четырехрогая антилопа - по сути, единственный обладатель четырех рогов.

Антилопы-дукеры, удирая от охотников или хищников, сбивают погоню с толку, чередуя широкие зигзаги из стороны в сторону с высокими подскоками. Эти антилопы водятся в лесах и кустарниковых зарослях Центральной и Южной Африки.

В группу саблерогих входит большое число крупных и средних животных. Особой известностью пользуются два вида этой группы - лошадиная и черная антилопы, чьи длинные уши делают их похожими на лошадей. Они живут стадами: лошадиные - на открытых пространствах к югу от экватора, а черные - в Центральной и Восточной Африке. Заслуживают упоминания еще два вида - болотный и водяной козлы. Оба держатся поблизости от воды, где прячутся от хищников, из-за чего их часто называют болотными антилопами.

К числу крупных представителей этой группы относятся орикс, или сернобык (небольшая популяция ориксов обитает и в Саудовской Аравии), длинноносые бубалы, или коровьи антилопы, с их похожими на лиру рогами, и знаменитые антилопы гну. Бубалы и гну в изобилии водятся в саваннах и не отличаются особой красотой, внешне напоминая помесь между лошадью и буйволом.

В отличие от бубалов и гну, газели издавна считаются признанными красавицами среди антилоп. Эти стройные быстроногие животные отлично приспособлены к жизни в жарких засушливых регионах Африки и Азии. К ним принадлежат спрингбок, в случае опасности подпрыгивающий на 2 м, импала, передвигающаяся длинными прыжками, и винторогая гарна, не знающая себе равных в беге во всей Индии.


Жираф

Шестиметрового жирафа - самого высокого из млекопитающих - легко узнать по длинным голенастым ногам и еще более длинной шее. Высокий рост и нескладный вид делают его, на первый взгляд, довольно легкой добычей, однако он способен развивать скорость до 50 км/час и сразить врага мощным ударом ног. Одного удара заднего копыта достаточно, чтобы убить льва. Короткие рожки жирафа, в отличие от оленьих рогов, служат ему всю жизнь, однако неповторимый колорит его облику придает пятнистая золотисто-коричневая окраска.


Образ жизни жирафа

ЖирафыЖирафы водятся во многих регионах Африки, предпочитая высокотравье поросших кустарником саванн, где достаточно их излюбленного корма - листвы акаций и мимоз. А так как в саваннах деревья растут мелкими островками, жирафы кочуют к местам кормежки небольшими группами до 30 особей, состоящими из нескольких самок с детенышами и вожака.

Самцы нередко затевают стычки за право спариться с самкой, а само спаривание происходит в любое время года - периода гона у жираф не существует. Во время поединка дуэлянты обмениваются тяжелыми ударами головой - она, к слову, весит до 45 кг - и длинными шеями. После 4-месячной беременности на свет появляются детеныши, которые уже через 20 минут способны стоять на ногах. Продолжительность жизни жираф - до 30 лет.

У жирафа есть только один родственник - окапи. Это животное настолько скрытно, что европейцы впервые увидели его лишь в 1901 г. Окапи обитает в тропических лесах Центральной Африки, его рост в холке достигает 1,5 м, а от жирафа его отличает более короткая покатая шея. Цвет шерсти - красновато-бурый с кремовыми полосками на ногах. У самцов растут похожие на жирафьи рожки. Окапи живут группами, состоящими обычно из одного самца и двух самок с детенышами.